Finishing the power transformer

All right, time to get on with the project!

So, tonight I will have to add some hardware in order to finish the power transformer.

I will have to mount this:

  • Mains power outlet
  • Fuse holder
  • Power switch
  • Indicator light
  • Faceplate (yeah!)
  • Grounding lug

I also have to remember to tighten all the screws before I go on with adding more stuff to the amp.

One thing! I use clothed wire which did not come with the amp kit. Since I have the wire I decided to use it, mainly to get that vintage look but it turns out to be an absolute joy to work with.

Here it goes!

Time to mount the indicator light.

Time to mount the indicator light.

The faceplate need to be mounted first.

The faceplate need to be mounted first.

Faceplate and indicator light in place, looking good :)

Faceplate and indicator light in place, looking good 🙂

Back side of indicator light.

Back side of indicator light.

Sorting out the hardware pieces.

Sorting out the hardware pieces.

I needed some extra rings to be able to flush the switches. Good thing I had some spare parts.

I needed some extra rings to be able to flush the switches. Good thing I had some spare parts.

I want the switches to be pretty flush to the plate.

I want the switches to be pretty flush to the plate.

Power switch in place.

Power switch in place.

And the standby switch is in place.

And the standby switch is in place.

Oh yes!

Oh yes!

Fuse holder in place.

Fuse holder in place.

Backside of fuse holder, it will be rotated 90 degrees clockwise.

Backside of fuse holder, it will be rotated 90 degrees clockwise.

Tightening the screws.

Tightening the screws.

This kit was a good buy!

This kit was a good buy!

220v enters here.

220v enters here.

Screw that.

Screw that.

Grounding. I love those clothed wires.

Grounding. I love those clothed wires. Good thing to know if you are a noob like me, push the clothed insulation back, don’t try to strip it – it will look nasty. If you push them back you will get the best looking wiring!

Grounding wire in place.

Grounding wire in place.

Don't do this with clothed wires, it's not a good way.

Don’t do this with clothed wires, it’s not a good way.

The twisting ended up like this. I had couldn't stand this so I removed it and did it by hand.

The twisting ended up like this mess. I couldn’t look at it so I removed it and did it by hand.

Ah, much better result!

Ah, much better result! I know it’s not a beauty contest but I wanna feel proud of my work with the amp.

Soldering the fuse holder.

Soldering the fuse holder.

Soldering the power switch.

Soldering the power switch. The right lug looks weird in the picture but it really is ok.

I often use assorted tools to hold the wires while soldering. Don't know if it is the correct way.

I use assorted tools to hold the wires while soldering. Don’t know if it is the correct way.

The power transformer is done! I will tidy up the wires a bit later on.

The power transformer is done! I will tidy up the wires a bit later on.

That’s about it for tonight!

Leave a comment